What do I do with my hands during a presentation?

Especially when I am excited about something, I tend to make pretty wild gestures with my hands. More than once I’ve noticed a person’s eyes follow the movement of my hands, as opposed to maintaining eye contact with me. It’s my signal to tone it down a notch, and it is something that I have to work at.

I love the following video from the public-speaking experts over  at SpeakFirst. It tells you exactly what to do with your hands to appear confident and comfortable.

Are you a fan of the wild gesture? Or do you find it distracting?

2 responses to “What do I do with my hands during a presentation?

  1. It may be my firewall, I guess, but I’ve tried two different browsers, and I’m just not seeing a “following video.” Perhaps it’s like the weather map for the hippy dippy weatherman? (If you remember this reference, we should get together and share arthritis meds or something.)

Leave a Reply

