Improve your articulation with Dr. Seuss

By Jaimy Ford

I’m a Dr. Seuss fan. Even as an adult, I still enjoy reading the books. And at some point every December, you will find me curled up on the couch watching the 1966 TV version of How the Grinch Stole Christmas. I love the art. The lessons each book conveys. And the way the masterful Theodor Geisel could play with the English language.

When my daughter was born, I immediately began building a Dr. Seuss library for her, and I am always ecstatic when she pulls one of the books off the shelf for me to read. Just the other day, we had a blast reading Oh Say Can You Say? Oh my brothers! Oh my sisters! These are Terrible Tongue Twisters! As I twisted my tongue in knots trying to read the book, she giggled hysterically.

And it dawned on me that the tongue twisters in the book are positively perfect practice for preparing for your next presentation. One of my favorites: 

Fritz needs Fred and Fred needs Fritz.
Fritz feeds Fred and Fred feeds Fritz.
Fred feeds Fritz with ritzy Fred food.
Fritz feeds Fred with ritzy Fritz food.
And Fritz, when fed, has often said,
“I’m a Fred-fed Fritz.
Fred’s a Fritz-fed Fred.”

The book is full of similar tongue twisters that are extremely useful mouth exercises. Spending just a few minutes practicing them each day can do wonders for your articulation and pronunciation. And they provide a great way to warm up before you take center stage at your next presentation.

Share your favorite tongue twister with us!

Leave a Reply

